Alexandrina Hristov was Born in Chisinau, Republic of Moldova in a family of artists. Her father, Victor Hristov, is a painter, while her mother was passionate by acting and singing. She started playing the piano and composing her own songs at 8 years. She graduated from the Academy of Music, Theatre and Fine Arts in Chisinau and has beautifully combined music, painting and poetry in her work, since then. In 2005 she played a main part in Paul Cuzuioc’s movie “Trois femmes de Moldavie”, whose soundtrack also included some of Alexandrina’s songs.



In 2009, Alexandrina released her first album, “Om de lut”(“Clay Man”) which included songs such as “Printre flori”(“Among flowers”), “Roule le taxi”, “Maria (de leagan)”(“Maria (lullaby)”). Alexandrina was said to have a special voice and approach. Over the past years Alexandrina has sung at important Romanian festivals and appeared at several Romanian TV shows. She gained most of the fans through the Internet and peer-to-peer networks.

The second album, “Flori de Spin” (“Thorn Florwers”) came in April 2014 and was a new step in Alexandrina’s career, as she did the entire musical arrangements by herself. The sound became more complex, with more instruments and field recording samples. The album contains the hit singles “Orasul Umbre”, which was selected as the feature theme of a HBO Romania series “Umbre” (“Shadows”).

The video of Alexandrina’ s new song, “Dupa Pod” was nominated for best video effects at Berlin Music Video Awards 2017.

Alexandrina’s live shows are very complex, featuring a full band using a wide range of instruments, both traditional and electronic. Most of the original songs are totally reworked live, covering a wide range of genres, from art pop to psychedelic rock.

Alexandrina sings in Romanian, French and Russian and played on major Romanian festivals ( Untold, Airfield, Green Sound, Garana Jazz) and also in London, Nantes, Moscow or Sankt Petersburg. She was featured in the prestigious French online magazine, La Blogotheque:

Band: Alexandrina Hristov (vocals, piano, guitar), Gabriel Almasi (guitar, mandola, synths, theremin), Petre Ionutescu (Trompetre) (trumpet, keyboards), Radu Pieloiu (drums), Anghel Mailat (bass, synths), Ovidiu Zimcea (guitar, electronics).

Share This